Blogs, Books, Babies and Badass Placentas…

Well, yes, it’s been a while since my last blog entry… *cringes*…so much for last year’s vow to commit to the growth of my online author/artists platform. I do, however, have a very good excuse. One that involves high-stakes, suspense, life-or-death drama, an unpredictable plot development, and – I hope – a very happy ending…

No, it’s not the machinations of my latest novel. It’s pregnancy.

More precisely, pregnancy with problems.

I’ve been lucky enough to get pregnant for a third time (always wanted three…don’t ask!), but rather less fortunate to wind up with a serious complication called: PLACENTA PREVIA MAJOR (…sounds like a sinister piano concerto?)

In brief, my disgustingly behaved placenta has led to lengthy hospital stays, blood transfusions, a super-scary life-threatening haemorrhage at 25 weeks, and now long-term bed rest (which is no mean feat when you have two smallies to take care of – many thanks Mum, Dad and Julian, for pretty much taking over the running of my life!)

But the end is in sight. My docs are hoping I can make it to 34-36 weeks, when they will pluck the baby via c-section and the *normal* chaos of daily life will resume. I honestly cherish the thought of school-runs and cooking and walking to the local shops…just the simple things I’ve been denied over the last few months.

I also can’t wait to restring the threads of my career. On that note, two of last year’s writing efforts, THE GARDEN (a non-fiction early reader for Orion Children’s Books) and BORN FREE: NINA THE ELEPHANT’S STORY (a gorgeous real-life animal rescue story, in conjunction with the Born Free Foundation) have now appeared on Amazon and are available for pre-order. Check them out! Check them out! Just type in my name! And I’ve also been working-up some canvases, anticipating a solo-exhibition of my Epping Forest-inspired abstract landscapes later this year.

Anyway, here’s to the imminent safe arrival of Baby ‘Peanut’ (…named by my 3 year old), to more blog entries, more books, more paintings…and lots more fun.

Till next time.

Cheerio.

x

5 thoughts on “Blogs, Books, Babies and Badass Placentas…

  1. Great blog post, I know it’s been awful for all of you, but probably worst for you though? Good to hear the end is in sight for you and that you’re looking forward to writing again. All our love x

Leave a Reply

